Finally I have time to update about this, its been in my head to talk about this ever since I was done with my internship last month at February. University is hectic, and being part of the student association has lots of works as well.

Let’s talk about my experience of interning in Maybank:

I was based in the Cash Management, Global Transaction Banking Malaysia department, under the Management Information System (MIS) team. Initially when I first started in the beginning of December, the department was still a mix of handling both cash and trade international transactions.

Tip #1 : Integrity

Interning in the bank, I felt that the most important thing to have in a bank is integrity. The word ‘integrity’ meant differently to everyone, even when I listened to how my colleagues explained their working, lifestyle in a bank, it is very easy to notice the different elaboration and how they perceive the word. However, the essential foundation to the meaning of this word is “doing the right thing when nobody’s looking”.

To be honest, this word struck me and I has been very interested with this topic, on how people perceived this word. So let me know your thoughts in the comments, I’m open to perspective.

Tip #2 : Process

The one thing that I felt I missed a lot in this internship is process. The learning process, the communication process, the making friends with colleagues process. I didn’t cherish the way things happened, and/or how it happened. Results isn’t as important (okay, it is but not as important as process), if you don’t understand the process, you wouldn’t appreciate the results as much. Yes, you did a great job compiling all the data and sorting them out and massaging them into readable reports, but did you do it in the efficient way? Did you learn new things or try new methods? Did you do step by step or is it just plain, follow-the-book kinda thing like referring to your senior’s work and that’s it?

 

Remember the process, learn it, understand it.

 

You will need it in the future. No matter how trivial or useless it seemed to be, we all need it in the future. One day, one moment. Who knew. The shortcuts on your keyboard, the way you organize the table, I don’t know. Legit the smallest things will shape you.

 

Tip #3 : Trust and Confidence in Yourself

 

I was probably the worst person with the lowest self-esteem as an intern in the workplace. (I know this isn’t an image a scholar should show, and I’m sincerely mad at myself of this). But, working with a bunch of professionals together and closely, one should see it as a great opportunity to learn.

My lesson is, be confident to learn. Trust yourself that you will be open to feedbacks and answers. We are Gen-Ys that are probably, one of the most “cursed” generation as seen by the Gen-Xs. So, instead of constantly blaming others and trying our best to tell off the Gen-Xs, just prove yourself different. Really, just be confident in everything you do at the workplace, i.e. something as small as beginning a conversation with your colleagues.

 

Tip #4 : Give Your Best

If you can’t seem to do things because of your “mood” is bad, or you just don’t feel like it, either you psych yourself up at the workplace or just go home. Don’t bother wasting your time, forcing yourself to go through the mundane routine at work during internship, which in other perspectives, it’s actually a very short period of time compared to actually working for your entire life after graduation. Get what I mean?

 

The fact that you could be in that office, successfully applied for work whether it’s something your degree requires you to or not, give all out every single day. Yeah, you will be mentally and physically tired. Heck, you might even complain where is the work-life balance. You’re young. You’re facing so much lesser commitments compared to after graduating, and you’d applied for internship during the holidays, just do your best. You understand? Every day is a day for you to be productive, learn as much as you can, do as much as you can, make as much mistakes as you can. If they scold an innocent mistake of yours, so what? Of course, if it was a repetitive mistake, shouldn’t you be giving your best to not repeat it?

 

Think about it.


That’s about it. Technical and operational stuffs are merely…familiarity and routine stuffs. It’s also how quick you are in adapting in new environments and picking up new techniques. Personally, I realized something that impacted my mindset a little: if you have the freedom to intern in any companies, go for smaller ones. Or the start-ups one. Your contribution will be much greater, and your learning experience will be much fruitful.

DSC00463.JPG
Here’s a photo, hopefully to inspire you. Heh.

 

 

